Awaken Love

I so badly want to be married.slideshow images for anniearmitage

I seriously CANNOT wait to be married.

Being life partners with the man the Lord has planned, having kiddos, and the like just gets me really excited.

The problem is, I lack a man.

No boyfriend. No fiance. Not even a prospective beau.

Zip. Zilch. Nada.

And one kind of needs one of those be married.

Pesky details. *rolls eyes*

I’ve never, ever been in a relationship, and marriage is quite a ways down the road.  But that doesn’t stop me from liking guys and holding them up against my list of necessary qualities in a mate.  And as I look from guy to guy, I can get pretty riled up.  It doesn’t seem to matter if I like one right now because I’m not ready for relationship, and I believe that recreational and serial dating is a waste of heart and time.

In the Song of Solomon, Solomon’s bride says this:

I adjure you, O daughters of Jerusalem, by the gazelles or the does of the field, that you not stir up or awaken love until it pleases. – Song of Solomon 2:7

I adjure you, O daughters of Jerusalem, by the gazelles or the does of the field, that you not stir up or awaken love until it pleases. – Song of Solomon 3:5

I adjure you, O daughters of Jerusalem, that you not stir up or awaken love until it pleases. – Song of Solomon 8:4

This leaves me wondering: “Well, when the heck is love going to please?” because despite all my not wanting to get romantically entangled with guys who won’t end up as my husband, I really wouldn’t mind a man (translation: I’m a girl who wants to be wanted and have a romantic relationship – it’s the whole “in my head I want this, but in my heart (I hate how gooshy that sounds) I want that” sort of thing…. but I’ll talk about the heart in a moment).

Apparently, Solomon’s bride thought that it was a pretty big deal because she said it three times using the same language in the course of eight chapters.

sleep onSo how can one go about keeping love sleeping until it’s time to wake up?  With these natural, feminine desires, how do I keep on the lookout for a perspective husband without stirring up love?

I think the point is to just let it be, and when God’s timing comes along, the pieces will fall into place.  I don’t have to become a nun, and I don’t have to throw myself at everything that moves.

Let it be, and take the time of singleness as an opportunity to serve God more fully.  The blessing of singleness is that I there’s no one else trying to stake out my heart.  The blessing of singleness is that it’s just me and the Lord.  And no matter how much I want to get married, once I do meet my match, opportunities to serve the Lord while I was single will slip away.  I’ll have a home to make, a husband to help, and hopefully kiddos to care for.  Lots of chances will be gained but many will also be lost.

Now, this is all well and good.  But the human heart is a rather annoying thing.  Apparently, it’s deceitful above all things (“The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it?” – Jeremiah 17:9ouch).  That is some pretty strong language against the heart.  It doesn’t look too bright.  But God knew that, so He gave us a mind to do battle with the heart until the heart concedes.  (And I do realize I’m kind of rambling here, but hang on for just a little longer before unsubscribing.)

The thing is, single people (myself included) can get so depressed and dramatic about being alone on Valentine’s Day.  You’d think the world was ending or something.  GOSH.

But I’m saying, use your single years until God opens the door and you can awaken love.  And whatever you do, DON’T FOLLOW YOUR HEART!

Happy Valentine’s Day from a single who has decided not to be sad about it.

P.S. – I do plan on getting published before I get married so that my pen name will forever be “Rosalie Valentine” because I doubt a better last name is out there…. just so y’all know…

One thought on “Awaken Love

  1. Rosalie,
    What a beautiful post! I pray that the young man God has for you (if that is His will for your life) is preparing his heart and mind to be a loving husband who will lead your family to serve the Lord above all else. So glad you are trusting in the Lord to bring you His best!

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

