Coming in 2016

Everybody is doing 2016 blog post.  Literally, everyone.  And so, I thought to myself, “What sort of wannabe blogger would I be if I didn’t do a 2016 post?”

Thus, this post.

  1. Books. (Naturally.)
  2. Reading. (Yep, books and the reading of them are two different things.)
  3. The Fox Hole (Duh.)

 

Coming in 2016 in BOOKS.

I am jazzed about some speculative fiction books that are set to release this year.  So, I thought I’d share the ones I’m most excited about.

curio coverCurio by Evangeline Denmark.  This one came out yesterday!  Evangeline Denmark helped teach the worldbuilding class I took at Realm Makers, and she did a fantastic job!  Everything about Curio that I’ve heard has been good! (Check it out on Amazon.)

tainted coverTainted by Morgan Busse. If you read my Favorite Five of 2015 post, you know I thoroughly enjoyed Morgan Busse’s first book, Daughter of Light.  I cannot wait to see what she does with Tainted and the steampunk series that it starts!  This one is set to release in the spring.

sirens song coverSiren’s Song by Mary Weber.  If you read my Favorite Five post, you’ll know how much I adored the first book of this series.  I’m on pins and needles until I find out what happens in the Storm Siren trilogy! This release March 1, 2016, and so you can hop over to Amazon to pre-order it with me.

Darkened Hope by J.L. Mbewe.  This book, guys.  Okay, partial disclosure, I have a bit of an inside scoop on this book, and it is fantastic!  (This is another series and author that I mentioned in my Favorite Five… anyone noticing a theme?).  Alas, the cover is yet to be revealed, but it will be soon! And this book is scheduled to release in May!

A Time to Rise by Nadine Brandes.  There isn’t much I can say about this series without falling into some sort of fangirl seizure/gush-fest.  So, I’ll just say that this stunning conclusion will be released this fall.  No, I haven’t read it yet, but yes, I know it will be stunning. (Cover yet to be revealed.)


 

Coming in 2016 in READING.

While I plan on reading in speculative fiction, I’m going to broaden my horizons.  There was a time when I would read anything set before me, no matter the genre.  Now, not so much.

I’m going to work on that in 2016.

My brother, Caleb, sent me a reading challenge that I plan to use to diversify my reading.  To start things off, my sister-in-law, Janie, over at Crock and Candle, is loaning me Jane Austen by Peter J. Leithart. (I’m going to ignore my doubts on the grammatical stability of that last sentence.)

From there, I’m reading Follow Me by David Platt and That Hideous Strength by C.S. Lewis. I’ll see where the challenge takes me.  (P.S. – what is a book that you would say “changed your life”?  I’m curious, and I’m supposed to read a book that someone has said “changed their life” for this challenge, and so please let me know in the comments.  I need some good suggestions.  Any genre.  Fiction.  Nonfiction.  Whatever.  Shoot away.)


 

Coming in 2016 on THE FOX HOLE.

Ah.  The moment we’ve all been waiting for.  The moment when I bring this back to this blog because I’m obsessed…mildly.

I cleaned house this past week on The Fox Hole.  I went through a bunch of old blog posts and cringed made them private so that they scourge the face of the ‘Net no longer only I can enjoy them.  Trust me, it’s for the best.

Also, I’m working on updating my About page.  It needs it.  Never fear, I will be sure to tell you all about it when I finish the update.  I know how you can’t wait.

Expect more posts like 3 Ways to Glorify God in Your Writing, #Called2Speak for the Lost, cover reveals/book reviews, random posts like How to Wrap a Gift (for the exceptionally challenged), and even more random posts like Writing Right Now.  And whatever else I feel like posting.

And, of course, expect Flickering Lights.

flickering lights text mask 1 edited w date

Flickering Lights is currently scheduled to begin releasing February 8, 2016.  I’ll assault your inbox next week with a special Flickering Lights post replete with a blurb, pictures, and a map. O.o


 

So, there is my obligatory 2016 post.

Thoughts?  What is coming for you in 2016?  Oh, and don’t forget to tell me about a book that changed your life!

6 thoughts on “Coming in 2016

  1. Book that changed my life (and for the better) – The 7 Habits of Highly Successful People by Stephen Covey Reading that book turned me from my wayward life of time spent away from the things of the Lord and , I believe, is largely responsible for who I am today. For what it’s worth,

    Pastor Bill

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Rosalie! I don’t usually comment, but I felt I had to step in to make sure of something- have you read the first two books of C.S. Lewis’ Space Trilogy (Out of the Silent Planet and Perelandra)? If you haven’t, I cannot recommend enough that you hold off on That Hideous Strength (the final book of the trilogy) until you read those. They are excellent books, and the final book in the trilogy is the most difficult, even having read the first two- I don’t want to imagine trying to grasp it without the context of the other books. I have been tracking my books read for a couple of years on Goodreads, which has a really excellent system in place for things of that nature. In terms of books that have changed my life…. Jane Eyre, Mere Christianity, and the Mark of the Lion trilogy were all absolutely incredible. Best of luck on your reading challenge- I think I will attempt to implement some of its questions in my own reading list for 2016. Happy New Year! – Kellyanne Fitzgerald

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, Kellyanne! :)
      Yes, I have read the first two! They were nothing like I had expected, but they were brilliant!! I’m so psyched for That Hideous Strength! Thanks for the recommendations! I’ve read Mere Christianity and Jane Eyre and love them both!! I’ll see if I can find some copies of the Mark of the Lion trilogy! :)

      Like

  3. Steampunk!!! So excited about Curio (and I’ll have to look at Tainted). I L.O.V.E. looking at Steampunk costumes/fashion … someday I’ll sew one for myself. =)

    I’m looking forward to Darkened Hope and A Time to Rise (so happy with that title) also. I have Mary Weber’s first two books –I heard they end on little cliffhangers though, so I’m not sure if I want to start reading them until the last is released, LOL.

    Does it have to be a book that changed someone’s life that you know personally? Because if not, I’d suggest grabbing an “award-winning” novel like a Newberry Award winner. Or even a really popular one –I haven’t read it yet, but the Harry Potter series is one that quickly comes to mind, because many of my peers have said that’s the series that got them to love reading. Most of these well-known books are likely to have someone who was impacted by them …

    Personally, I can’t think of a book off the top of my head that “changed my life” other than the Bible?

    I have a couple of ,a href=”http://theartistlibrarian.blogspot.com/2016/01/bookish-blogging-resolutions-for-2016.html”>bookish and blogging goals for 2016 I just wrote about …

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Have you ever read “Chosen: The Lost Diaries of Queen Esther” by Ginger Garret? Though Esther has a book in the Bible, there’s not much about her as a person. This really humanizes her and gave me more of a historical grounding than I was expecting the first time I read it. Every time since then I have learned something new about Esther and myself. It’s also my go-to book when I’m fasting, even though it gives recipes for Persian dishes in the back.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

