Calloused Heart–Are you tired of the old, rugged cross?

Today is Friday. I don’t usually post on Fridays, but today is Good Friday. Good Friday is the day that we remember Christ’s death on a cross over 2000 years ago.

Now, I’m not going to say too much, but I believe that I must say something.

calloused heart feature image

As some of you know, I’ve been a Christian for almost thirteen years, and I’ve been in church my entire life. It’s easy to get used to the cross. It’s easy for the Gospel to seem normal, everyday. It’s easy for Christ’s death to seem stale, and maybe someone needs to freshen it up, make it interesting or something. (e.g. – that moment when the pastor starts in on the Gospel again, and I inwardly sigh because, gosh, I’ve heard this a gazillion times, and I could definitely tell you this in my sleep, and do we really have to go into the Gospel again? It’s not like it’s the cornerstone of our faith or anything big like that…) I find I want Christ’s sacrifice to be retold in some new way that shocks me and moves me. Like it is, it doesn’t affect me. Someone should do something to spruce it up, retell it in a way that reaches me, right?

Um, no.

Since when is the power of the cross about me? Since when did my heart become so callous as to be bored by Calvary?

It’s the Gospel. Eh, so?

So, think with me for a moment. Let’s be simple. Let’s use small, plain words that we’ve probably already heard.

God made man for His glory. Man decided that he preferred to have the glory instead of God. Man betrayed God and broke the world. God came down to earth to die for Man.

Christ came to pour out His blood as the sacrifice to end all sacrifices. Christ came to die so that we could live, even though we betrayed Him, even though we defied Him, even though we sinned against Him. God died for us.

And this is somehow normal? And this is somehow old hat? And this is somehow *yawn* boring? Guys, even as I write this, part of me is like, “Eh, whatever.” How is that even possible???!?

If all the niceties and masks were stripped away from me, if my core–my heart and mind–was exposed, I wouldn’t even be remotely likable. And my guess is, neither would you. And El Roi, Who sees all that you are, came down to earth and let Himself get murdered so that you might live. How is that mundane? How is that ordinary?

The story of the cross–why it happened, how it changed the world–it doesn’t need help. It doesn’t need to be retold in a new way.

Just think about it. Really, truly, deeply, think about it.

This is Good Friday.

Here are some passages that tell of Christ’s death. I encourage you to read at least one of them. Read slowly, thoughtfully. My prayer is that the Holy Spirit will tear the callous off of my heart and the hearts of everyone else who has come to think that the old, rugged cross is tiresome, trite, or insipid.

Psalm 22.

Isaiah 53.

Matthew 27:15-61.

Mark 15.

Luke 23.

John 18:28-19:42.

Today is Good Friday (you should know by now because I’ve already told you this a few times). Don’t just pause and reflect on Christ’s sacrifice; stop and dwell on it throughout the day.

Here are the lyrics to a song called True Love by Phil Wickham. It’s about what happened today, over 2000 years ago.

Come close, listen to the story
About a love more faithful than the morning
The Father gave His only Son just to save us

The earth was shaking in the dark
All creation felt the Father’s broken heart
Tears were filling heaven’s eyes
The day that true love died, the day that true love died
When blood and water hit the ground
Walls we couldn’t move came crashing down
We were free and made alive
The day that true love died, the day that true love died

Search your hearts, you know you can’t deny it
Lose your life just so you can find it
The Father gave His only Son just to save us

The earth was shaking in the dark
All creation felt the Father’s broken heart
Tears were filling heaven’s eyes
The day that true love died, the day that true love died
When blood and water hit the ground
Walls we couldn’t move came crashing down
We were free and made alive
The day that true love died, the day that true love died

Jesus is alive
He rose again

Do you care about the Gospel? Does remembering what Christ has done get you excited, or is it just sort of, eh? Or is it just me who has this problem?

Join me, and use today to remember why this Friday is so good.

Have an incredible weekend!

~ Rosalie

P.S. – Flickering Lights 6 has been postponed a week because of Resurrection Sunday.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Calloused Heart–Are you tired of the old, rugged cross?

  1. I don’t comment on your blog very often (actually, this may be my first comment…), though I read it, but I need to comment on this post. Because yes. I understand this so very well. I can even be moved with emotion by the sacrifice, and then five minutes, be just fine and not struck with the everlasting wonder that should always accompany the fact that the LORD redeemed the very people who broke His perfect world! I don’t understand how–or when–or why–any of us could ever have become so calloused to this.

    What you said:
    “Someone should do something to spruce it up, retell it in a way that reaches me, right?
    Um, no.
    Since when is the power of the cross about me?”

    is so right. So many of us tend to make ourselves the center of attention – even on accident – when it should be Him. The problem is not with the gospel; the problem is with us. I don’t want to be tired of the cross; I want to be overcome with the wonder and the awe and the whole astonishing truth of it. That’s so very hard sometimes.

    …I guess I didn’t really say anything here that you didn’t already say, but… Yes. Your blog post was very right; you are not the only person who has this problem.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

