Exclusive Excerpt: Martin Hospitality + GIVEAWAY

Today is February 6, and that means that Martin Hospitality by Abigayle Claire was released two days ago, and I’m so jazzed that this book is out in the world, and so that means that today’s post is going to be Martin Hospitality related (in case you didn’t grab that nugget of wisdom from this post’s title).

But, this is more than just a post for me to ramble on about why I’m excited to finally read this book (though, I could do that too). No, today I bring you something more coherent. After conferring with the fabulous Abigayle Claire herself, I have an exclusive excerpt from Martin Hospitality to share with you all because I’m wonderful and get my wonderful followers wonderful things. And there’s also a giveaway.

martin-hospitality-excerpt

But first, the cover and the blurb.

wp-1485012566919.jpgGemma Ebworthy is eighteen, pregnant, and alone. Now that she’s been evicted, she spends the night in a barn, never dreaming that tomorrow could bring kindness of a life-changing magnitude.

The Martins aren’t a typical family—even for rural Kansas. With more kids than can be counted on one hand and a full-time farm, Gemma must make a lot of adjustments to fit in. But despite their many differences, Gemma finds herself drawn to this family and their radical Christian faith.

When Gemma’s past collides with her yet again, she must begin revealing her colorful history. With every detail Gemma concedes, she fears she will lose the Martins’ trust and the stable environment she desires for herself and her unborn child. Just how far can the Martins’ love and God’s forgiveness go?

Now, about the author.

abiclaireAbigayle has been a writer for as long as she can remember, but did not begin seriously pursuing becoming an author until 2015. Since then, she has started a blog and numerous social media accounts, graduated high school as a homeschooler, and participated in the infamous NaNoWriMo. Other than writing, she is also pursuing work as a freelance editor. Writing is her ministry and reading is her pastime. Abigayle lives in Central Texas with her six younger siblings and parents.

Finally, the excerpt.

Note: this excerpt is taken from Chapter 10.

“But even though I never knew my mother, she taught me something.” Gemma fiddled with the button on the chair’s pillow. “Josiah, I never told you this, but I almost aborted Farris. That’s what . . . the father wanted. Then I remembered my mom and she’s the one who stopped me from doing it. I remembered . . . what she had done to me and how it made me feel, and I determined never to do anything to my child that would make him hate me like I hated my mom.” She looked up at him and smiled. “I was going to do better than she did. That’s why. I want to break the single mom stereotype . . . somehow.”

“But you have.”

Gemma gave him a skeptical look.

“I’m serious. You’re amazing, Gemma. You have sacrificed so much to help your baby.”

“Well, if I had been truly selfless, I wouldn’t have had a baby in the first place,” she said quietly.

“Everyone makes mistakes. You have to forgive yourself if you’re ever going to move on.”

“I’ll get over everything that has happened to me, but . . .” She shrugged a shoulder. “I can’t forgive what I did to others.”

Josiah nodded. “Gemma . . . don’t let it defeat you. Guilt can do that.”


And there it is, kids. In case you didn’t order Martin Hospitality on the day that it released, here are all the links you need: Amazon, CreateSpace, and Goodreads. But of course, I’m sure you ordered Martin Hospitality as soon as possible, didn’t you? DIDN’T YOU? If you haven’t, I’ll forgive you now if you hop over to Amazon (or CreateSpace) and get yourself a copy. Or two. Or three. ;)

Oh, yes, and now the giveaway:

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Martin Hospitality by Abigayle Claire

Martin Hospitality

by Abigayle Claire

Giveaway ends February 28, 2017.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter Giveaway

Buy the book, enter the giveaway, and have a fantastic week!

~ Rosalie out.

P.S. – Full disclosure, Abi actually sent me two excerpts to choose from for this post, and so I’m just chilling here chewing on my two little excerpts while you guys only get one. Mwahahahaha!

P.P.S. – So in that last postscript, I tried to make it sound like I’m all calm waiting for Martin Hospitality to arrive. Actually, I’m more like a sleep-deprived gremlin obsessively watching the mailbox. So, yeah, there’s that. #keepingitreal

 

