The 2018 Penprints Flash Fiction Dash WRAP-UP

Well, kids, today is the day.

Today is the giant wrap-up for the 2018 Penprints Flash Fiction Dash.

the 2018 penprints flash fiction dash the giant wrap-up post.jpg

Before we get to the stories themselves, I just want to say a few things (because I’m charge and can do as I please, mwahahaha).

I wasn’t going to do a flash fiction dash this year just because of the time it takes, but almost last minute, I decided to launch it because it had been so much fun last year. And I decided to give it an Instagram so that I could give the stories another spotlight and hopefully be able to interact with all you lovely people on another level.

Guys, you made it so worth it.

It was so fun tracking the hashtags and seeing people work on their stories, but when the stories actually started to come in…. man, you guys blew my mind.

So much imagination and creativity and talent has gone into each of these stories, so many unique angles on the prompts that I never dreamed of, and I feel so privileged and humbled to be able to interact with these writers and compile these stories.

I know I sound like a broken record because I keep telling people “I love what you did with the prompt”, but it’s just the way it is–they did amazing things with the prompts.

So, without any more of my rambling, let’s go on 25 different adventures. Click the prompt to read the story.

Disclaimer: neither I nor any of these writers own any of these pictures; they were found in the depths of Pinterest.

[Science Fiction]

To the Stars Who Listen by Athelas Hale.

athelas-hale-jpg.jpg

Human Error by Faith Song.

faith-song-line-jpg.jpg

Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Moya Tobey.

moya-tobey-jpg.jpg

[Fantasy]

Sun Eater by Just B. Jordan

just-b-jordan-jpg

The Painting by Alina.

alina prompt jpg.jpg

Dragonborne by A.K.R. Scott.

a-k-r-scott-jpg.jpg

The Last of the Lightning Bearers by Sarah Rodecker.

 

sarah-rodecker-jpg.jpg

Rimewhittling by Spruce Holly Nogard.

spruce-holly-nogard-jpg.jpg

The Deal Is Off by Julian Daventry.

julian-daventry-jpg.jpg

Song of the Wind by Emily Jayne.

emily-jayne jpg.jpg

Letters from the Banned by M.

m-jpg

Ambush by Katherine M.

katherine-m-jpg

The Pond by Melinda Wagner.

melinda-wagner-jpg

[Contemporary]

The Day We Say Goodbye by Micaiah Saldana.

micaiah-saldana-jpg.jpg

The Decision by Andi L. Gregory.

andi-l-gregory-jpg.jpg

Different Storms by J.M. Jablowski

j-m-jablowski-jpg.jpg

Survival by Abigayle Claire.

abigayle-claire-jpg

A Change of Heart by Anika Walkes

anika-walkes-jpg.jpg

[Historical]

To See by Tapar – through the desert.
tapar-through-the-desert-jpg

Between the Raindrops by Amanda Harder.

amanda-harder-jpg

[Other]

[aka: the category for stories that I can’t figure out what genre they belong; all I know is that they’re mostly speculative]

Replaced by Aebli.

aebli-jpg.jpg

All for a Sip of Hot Chocolate by True Shaw.

true-shaw-jpg.jpg

Black + White by Lisa Elis.

lisa-elis-jpg.jpg

Ribs by Heid Melo (and she’s a girl after my own heart–she has a playlist for it).

heidi-melo-jpg.jpg

Not for Me by Michael A. Blaylock.

michael-blaylock-jpg.jpg


And that’s the end of it.

The 2018 Penprints Flash Fiction Dash has come to a close. Here’s a huge thank you to everyone who participated, and a huge thank you to everyone who’s stopped in to read these fantastic stories.

What story was your favorite? What prompt was your favorite?

With love,

Rosalie

P.S. – For news of the 2019 Penprints Flash Fiction Dash, keep a weather eye on the Instagram account.

P.P.S. – The July memo for High Command (aka: my swanky newsletter) is slotted to go out this Friday; sign up now to receive the secret updates.

P.P.P.S. – Flash fiction dashers! Also be on the lookout for a debrief email about this year’s challenge!

2 thoughts on “The 2018 Penprints Flash Fiction Dash WRAP-UP

  1. Gosh this post is so aesthetic just scrolling through <3 And it was so fun to participate this time even if I did scramble at the end haha (sorry!). It's my goal to read every single one of these, but so far I've read 3 and just … wow. People have skills. *applause*

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?